Author Topic: The Game Psychology of Humans and Zombies  (Read 4977 times)

Black Mask

• Regular
The Game Psychology of Humans and Zombies
« on: June 18, 2006, 09:15:12 AM »
Spun off from the "dragging bodies" thread because I thought it was an interesting topic for suggestion.

Wow, well OK. It seems a very altruistic thing to do but I guess that's why i'm not playing as a zombie. As far as altruism goes, I can see the greater need for medics and of course necrotechs. This is sort of fascinating to me because i'm a psychology grad student (outside of Malton). Zombie clans and members of those clans seem to share a greater communal responsibility than harmon groups. I mean you'll see groups come to the aid of their allies when you guys hit a mall really hard (the RRF is pretty vicious when it starts rolling). I guess city-wide domination can only be achieved in strength in STRONG numbers and that would be a means of getting there.

I can think of two main reasons for this.

The first is the fact that zombies were so screwed for quite so long.  I think one side effect of this is that it meant that zombie players actually have a sense of solidarity that you don't get to the same extent with human players, particuarly with people outside their group.  And remember that the high level zombies (who I suspect are going to be the most altruistic about dragging bodies out, as we don't need the XP) are more likely to have been around at that time and for the strike.

Secondly, ironically, it's because zombies are more anyomous and less 'heroic' in the traditional sense.  So you don't get the same level of trenchcoating gloryhounds among the zombie population.  Apart from a couple of very prominent exceptions (Xyu, Petro) who are heavily involved in the UD community as a whole, the only way for a zombie to gain fame is vicariously through being part of an infamous horde.